top of page

Love Letter To Cosplay

You're probably wondering what the hell cosplay is? Or if you aren't then let me tell you that there a ton of people who have no idea what it is. This is for both sides. The side that knows that cosplay is dressing up as your favorite character (or original character) and acting in that costume. To those who know it's like entering a whole different world where no one can touch you.


This is my love letter to cosplay. And why I never intend to stop.


If you couldn't tell that image up there is of Remus Lupin. My favorite character is probably the whole world. Yes, I love so many but I have never in my life related to someone like Remus John Lupin.


So, some background here. I was a super shy kid in school. I spent more time reading than I did actually talking. And reading wasn't easy. Just I would rather struggle and read the same page eight times because I don't remember actually reading it than talking to people. Ya boi had anxiety bad. Alright? Bad. So I would spend my time reading and living in my book worlds. I was Hermione Granger for 5 years for halloween. Because they didn't make Remus Lupin costumes! An outrage for a young me!


Anyway I had made it to high school. And I fell in love with the theatre! The lights! The drama! The STAGEFRIGHT! Yeah so acting wasn't really for me. But that was where I learned to sew costumes. You know what you need to do to make costumes? Look up references. We happened to be doing Willie Wonka and I needed to know what Wonka wore. Paying attention to detail is key. There I was with my note pad, my camera, and my DVD player. Watching the movie and taking the note pad, putting it up to the screen and tracing the outfit. I was dedicated. Downside I had exactly two hours of a crash course on how to sew. My first draft of a costume was so terrible. I might have also managed to sew my sleeve to the costume. It was a event for 14 year old me. Also the death of my favorite shirt too.


But I fell in love. And I found people like me who loved making things. I was eighteen when I made my very first cosplay. Jack Frost from Rise of the Guardians. I had the wig (thank you party city) the sweatshirt I made myself, the stressed pants, the boots, and my very own Jack Frost stick that I made with pure determination and my dad's power tools. It wasn't the best but it was mine! And I loved it. I was dying in 90 degree weather in Texas but I loved it.

Cosplay opened up this world to me. I got to escape into these characters I put costumes on for. I was safe in my armor that was the costume.


Cosplay opened up my world. I found people that were like me. I have friends all around the world now that dress up and make costumes and go to cons. I opened up and found what I love. And I don't think I'd be where I am today without it.


So this is my love letter to cosplay. It opened up my world. It opened up my life. And I'm never going to stop doing it because I love it. So for all those people thinking they can't sew or make something, here is the deal. I made the Remus costume with my dad's old jumper, a pair of slacks, old converse, a beanie, and some okay make up skills. And I loved it. It doesn't have to be fancy. Just fun.


Plus you know there is a wonderful community out there for cosplay. And I'll leave you with one of my werewolves. What? I love them! His name is Maverick and he's kind of a jerk but hey he has a heart of gold for his pack. That's something right?

bottom of page